Fact Checked

What Are the Different Types of Assessor Qualifications?

Florence J. Tipton
Florence J. Tipton

Several types of assessor qualifications exist for anyone who wants to assign value to real estate property. Generally, obtaining a license and certification are essential assessor qualifications. An educational foundation of at least an undergraduate degree is also a common qualification for most assessor positions. In addition, assessor qualifications are often met through on-the-job training at a local tax assessment agency.

Qualifications to work as an assessor may vary based on several different factors. Some places have regional mandates that dictate how a local tax assessment agency sets qualification standards. The type of property or valuing limitations in a local town could also become a factor in assessor qualifications.

An aspiring assessor will be required to take certification exams.
An aspiring assessor will be required to take certification exams.

Most local agencies may require an individual to become a certified licensed assessor. To obtain this qualification, the individual may enroll in an assessor training program accredited by the regional authority. Normally, the licensing and certification training programs prepare an individual to demonstrate competencies required in the assessor field.

There are several competency areas that most assessor certification programs cover. Evaluation of real estate property is usually a key competency because it covers the primary job function. Familiarization with the planning process of conducting an assessment is another core competency. Mastering the validation process also demonstrates a competency for interpreting data related to property values correctly.

Completing a training program can prepare an individual to sit for an examination. In generally, the examination tests how well an individual grasps key competencies of property assessment. Upon passing the examination, the licensing authority that oversees the profession may issue a license certifying the individual meets assessor qualifications.

While receiving a license as a certified assessor is a key qualification, it may limit activities in which the assessor may participate. For example, an assessor may only qualify to assess residential properties. Another limitation could be the residential properties assessed may not exceed a specified monetary value.

The educational component of assessor qualifications could also vary by jurisdiction. In some jurisdictions, requirements may include an undergraduate degree, including courses related to the real estate industry. Other jurisdictions might accept a degree such as statistics or business law, which can also equip an individual with the right set of skills.

For some jurisdictions, the individual might not need a formal education before obtaining a license and certification. If this is the case, the regional or local authority will set minimum standards to obtain certified assessor status. This may include a set number of hours in on-the-job training to perform valuations of real estate property. Additionally, some jurisdictions may require completing basic courses in property assessment.

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Forgot password?
    • An aspiring assessor will be required to take certification exams.
      By: Lisa F. Young
      An aspiring assessor will be required to take certification exams.