We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What are the Different Types of Computer Certification Exams?

By D. Waldman
Updated Mar 02, 2024
Our promise to you
Practical Adult Insights is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At Practical Adult Insights, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

There are nine basic categories of computer certification exams, each centered on a specific area of expertise or a specific software vendor. Skill set-based certifications include security certifications, Certified Internet Web (CIW) certifications and Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) certifications. Vendor based-certifications are provided for Microsoft, Unix, Linux, Novell, Cisco and Oracle products. Most computer professionals will base the types of certifications they choose to pursue on a combination of their current or intended job role, as well as the specific software programs or operating systems that they will be using while performing their duties.

Security certifications are geared toward professionals who are responsible for network and data security on a day-to-day basis. The pinnacle of the security certifications available is the Certified Information Systems Security Professional® (CISSP&reg) certification. The CISSP&reg focuses on major areas of expertise, including areas such as network security, application development security, cryptography and operations security. In order to qualify to take the CISSP&reg exam, the individual must have extensive knowledge of at least two of the 10 skill sets.

CIW computer certification exams are geared toward professionals in the field of web development and Internet technologies. They are considered vendor neutral, and CIW certifications are recommended for individuals with some background in both Linux/Unix and Windows operating systems. They are offered in a variety of expertise rankings, ranging from associate level to master's level, and they focus on a wide range of topics, including enterprise management, network architecture and database management.

CompTIA certifications are an extensive group of computer certification exams that cover one of the broadest selections of topics. With more than 10 certifications from which to choose, computer professionals can become certified in a range of job specialties, such as Network+, Security+ or Project+. Some CompTIA computer certification exams will focus on a combination of both software and hardware knowledge. The A+ certification is one example of this.

For vendor-related certifications, those under the Microsoft umbrella typically are the most widely recognized of the software-based computer certification exams. Common certification offerings include the Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist, the Microsoft Certified IT Professional and the Microsoft Office Specialist certification. Each certification is offered in three levels of expertise, the Architect Series, the Professional Series and the Technology Series.

For individuals who are looking for certifications in open-source operating systems, there are numerous computer certification exams specializing in Unix, Linux and Novell. These certifications are geared toward a wide range of professionals, including computer engineers, technicians and programmers. They also can be focused on specific versions of the programs, such as Solaris, the Unix-based operating system produced by Sun Microsystems.

Novell, Cisco and Oracle also offer a range of certifications based on their specific software offerings. Oracle, for example, offers three basic levels of certification, the Oracle Certified Master, the Oracle Certified Associate and the Oracle Certified Professional. Popular Novell offerings include the Certified Novell Administrator and the Certified Novell Engineer certification exams. Cisco offers a variety of certifications in four categories, each geared toward a specific level of expertise, including technician, associate, professional and expert-level certifications.

Practical Adult Insights is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
Practical Adult Insights, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

Practical Adult Insights, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.