We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

How can I Become a Certified Nurse Midwife?

Hillary Flynn
Updated: Mar 02, 2024

Midwives are caregivers and medical professionals who employ a holistic approach to pregnancy, childbirth, and the postnatal care of women and infants. Two different certifications exist for midwives. The first is Certified Midwife (CM). The CM credential does not require a nursing background, but it is not legal to practice midwifery under this designation in the majority of states. For those who want the flexibility to practice anywhere in the United States, the Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) certificate is the best choice. The CNM certification requires a background in nursing.

Whichever route is selected, candidates must first complete an academic program in midwifery that is approved by the American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM) Division of Accreditation (DOA). Those without a nursing background must have a bachelor's degree with a focus on science courses such as biology, chemistry, and anatomy before entering a midwife program. If prerequisites are not satisfied with the candidate's bachelor's degree program, then some courses may have to be taken before attending a midwife school. Programs for CMs are usually about three years long, and cover the same material found in a certified nurse midwife program.

For those seeking certification as a Certified Nurse Midwife, a nursing degree must be completed as well. Every midwife must obtain at least a bachelor's degree and many complete a bachelor's degree in nursing to become a Registered Nurse (RN), then complete midwifery requirements in a master's degree program. Currently, other options are a post-baccalaureate certificate, and some continue into a PhD program. By 2010, every certified nurse midwife entering the field will be required to complete a graduate program.

Once an approved academic program is completed, candidates may then take the national certification exam. Upon passing the examination, candidates are awarded either the Certified Midwife or Certified Nurse Midwife credential. These certifications are given by the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB), and they are valid for eight years.

During the eight year period, midwives must complete continuing education credits. This is called the Certification Maintenance Program (CMP). If the continuing education requirements are met, a new license will be granted at the end of the eight year period. If not, no new license will be issued until the midwife once again takes and passes the national certification exam. As with any medical profession, it is key that certified nurse midwives stay current on new techniques and procedures to ensure their patients receive the best possible care available.

Practical Adult Insights is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Hillary Flynn
By Hillary Flynn
Hillary Flynn's insatiable curiosity led her to join the Practical Adult Insights team, where she contributes well-researched articles on various topics. In addition to her work with Practical Adult Insights, Hillary manages an electronic publishing business that allows her to develop her skills in technical writing, graphic design, and business development. With a passion for satirical writing and traveling to historical places, Hillary brings a distinctive voice to her content.
Discussion Comments
Hillary Flynn
Hillary Flynn
Hillary Flynn's insatiable curiosity led her to join the Practical Adult Insights team, where she contributes well-...
Learn more
Practical Adult Insights, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

Practical Adult Insights, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.